International Milton Symposium - IMS12

17-21 June 2019, Palais Universitaire, Strasbourg

Logo IMS12

Dear Colleagues,

In 2005 in Grenoble, the rather loose ‘translations’ of Milton by Mirabeau, and the nearby Museum of the French Revolution in Vizille, led us to think about ‘Milton, rights and liberties’ as the main topic of the Symposium (IMS8). This time, since Strasbourg was the home of Martin Bucer, the German Protestant reformer, and given the special status of Alsace established by the Concordat of 1801, it is opportune for us to think about Milton's politics of religion. Another connection of Milton with Strasbourg is Gustave Doré, the famous XIXth century French illustrator of "Paradise Lost". As always with Milton symposia, paper proposals on all aspects of Milton studies are welcome.

The deadline (1 December 2018) has expired. Submissions after the deadline will be considered, as long as space is available. Please send us your 200-word paper proposals, with a short biography, at:

The conference programme has been published.

Members of the International Milton Standing Committee: Hugh Adlington (Birmingham, England, UK), Ann Coiro (Rutgers University, New Jersey, USA), Thomas N. Corns (Bangor, Wales, UK), Karen Edwards (Exeter, England, UK), Katsuhiro Engetsu (Doshisha University, Kyoto, Japan), Steve Fallon (University of Notre Dame, Indiana, USA), Roy Flannagan (University of South Carolina, South Carolina, USA), John Hale (University of Otago, New Zealand), Edward Jones (Oklahoma State University, Chief editor of Milton Quarterly), Laura K. Knoppers (University of Notre Dame, Indiana, USA), Byung-Eun Lee (Hansung University, South Korea), Hiroko Sano (Aoyama Gakuin University, Tokyo, Japan), Beverley Sherry (University of Sydney, Australia), Paul Stevens (University of Toronto, Canada), Neil Forsyth (University of Lausanne, Switzerland) and Christophe Tournu (University of Strasbourg, France).

Programme Chair: Karen Edwards (University of Exeter, England, UK), John Hale (University of Otago, New Zealand), Neil Forsyth (University of Lausanne, Switzerland), and Christophe Tournu (University of Strasbourg, France).

The organizers

Updated: 6 May 2019


Université de Strasbourg, 22 rue René Descartes, F-67084 Strasbourg cedex